Home > Encouragement > I RESOLVE TO…

I RESOLVE TO…

“Help shoulder a burden and lighten someone’s load.”

As a leader, I know what it means to carry the weight of an organization through every payroll, past due invoice, and conflict among members. I know what it means to lead a diverse group of people in the same direction and see some fight against it and others never assume it as their own. I know what it means for two or three responsible people to carry the workload for twenty or thirty lazy people. I know what it means to do what I said I would do, regardless of what is popular.

As people complain about elected politicians who never do the hard things as professed during the campaign, I truly believe that if our politicians were to actually do the hard things for the good of the country, many people would still be complaining, because they would have to own the difficult consequences of those difficult decisions.

As a senior pastor, I am not accustomed to sitting in a church, but on occasion, I have envisioned what it would feel like to be a church member under another pastor again. I know it would be different than before I became pastor. I would feel more responsible to that pastor to do ANYTHING he needed me to do. I would feel more responsible to ADVANCE his vision. My predecessor, who is now a church member in another church under another pastor, said he feels this same responsibility, because he has been there and knows what his church, pastor, and God needs from him. He also expressed a sympathy to quickly defend his pastor at the sound of the pettiest bickering.

In the next year, I am going to help shoulder a burden and lighten someone’s load. I want to help them do even more for good.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

