Home > Advancing Honor > $5.27

$5.27

I just received an email newsletter from the Glenn Beck Program, containing what many would call a coincidence, but what I view as an affirmation of what really matters.

Excerpts from Beck’s email, The Spirit of 8.28

For months, Glenn poured his efforts into a non-profit cause, auctioning off anything he could think of. The goal for Glenn was to give as much as possible to the Special Operations Warrior Foundation on August 28th at the Restoring Honor Rally. During a broadcast of The Glenn Beck Program, Glenn recounted a story that he felt embodied the virtue of charity, a recurring theme on his TV and radio programs over the 2010 year.

On his way back from a fundraising dinner, Glenn was reviewing the recent donations he had received, focusing on some of the big donors. Glenn said, What else did we get? And [a staff member] said, well, we also got a letter in and the person said, I can’t make it because I can’t afford to come, but I believe in our special forces and I believe in what you’re doing. And honor is the key. I wish I could come, but I can’t but I wanted to show my support and this is all I could afford. In the envelope was a baggy, and this is not from a child. 8 cents, 8 pennies. Glenn was speechless….

Glenn explained, I remember filling up my gas tank and having to count it out in change. I remember the days that, you know, my kids didn’t think that my gas tank held more than $5.27. This to me is the epitome of our lives, our fortunes and our sacred honor.

And this is the epitome of the Advancing Honor Rally on 5-27, that lack of money or power will no longer hold anyone back from making a difference. This day will advance The Spirit of 8.28 and inspire someone in the crowd, who, for the first time in their life, will believe they can.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

