Home > Divine Interventions > DOUBLE PORTIONS

DOUBLE PORTIONS

Double Portion

The other day, I went out for some coffee. I was already over my budget for coffee that week, but something inside of me said, “Just do it.” Normally, that would be my coffee addiction talking, but not this time, really!

For some reason, I did not go to the coffee shop closest to me, but went for a drive to one farther away.

God has this really interesting way of taking me “out of my way” to show me something about Himself, and He was about to do it again.

As I was driving, I thought about the hard times you and I face in the present, and how those times will be remembered and appreciated when we experience favor in the future. Here’s the secret–no matter what you’re going through at this very moment…

Have faith in the present that there is hope for the future.

The first couple lines of Chris Tomlin’s All My Fountains say, “This dry and desert land–I tell myself keep walking on. I hear something up ahead–water falling like a song.” As you walk in your personal desert land, believe that you’re about to hear that first drop of water on the path ahead (Isaiah 61:11b). There are good days ahead (Proverbs 4:18).

God uses simple things on earth to communicate great things to man. So, I arrived at the coffee shop and ordered my favorite drink of the season, a Pumpkin Spice Latte. When the barista extended my drink to me, it was not what I ordered. She cheerfully apologized, corrected the order, and asked me if I would like to have both drinks. I said sure, thinking nothing of it and wondering what I would do with it.

On the drive home, it hit me when I looked down and saw this…

Here I had a Pumpkin Spice Latte, which I asked for, and a Pumpkin Spice Frappuccino, which I did not expect–a double portion of Pumpkin Spice.

These two drinks, sitting side by side, is a picture of what God will do for us in life.

God gives a double portion (Isaiah 61:7).

There was no way I could drink both of these.

God gives us more than we know what to do with (Ephesians 2:7; 3:20).

To make room for the extra coffee, I had to remove a cup of old, lukewarm, black coffee from one of the cup holders. How often do we hold onto the “old, lukewarm, black coffees” of life longer than we should when God wants to give us something so much better? We have grown so accustomed to drinking a stale coffee in life, we think there is no way we could do without it. Just so you know, I was not drinking from that old cup of coffee! Maybe we shouldn’t keep old coffee cups sitting around to dirty up our car.

God replaces the old cup that has no use (Revelation 3:16).

This picture tells me that double portions are coming my way. No matter what you lack at this very moment, have faith in the present that there is hope for the future of double portions coming your way–not just to get more, but to give more glory to God for what He has done.

Get Ready. He will provide.

  1. October 6, 2011 at 9:45 pm

    Good message 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

