Home > Encouragement > IN MUD UP TO THEIR ANKLES

IN MUD UP TO THEIR ANKLES

I recently spent a couple days in Dallas, Texas. I was able to familiarize myself with the Dallas area, which was also helpful in preparation for my trip back in July for Mercury One’s Restoring Love event at Dallas Cowboys Stadium.

There were a couple things from Dallas that left an impression on me. It wasn’t the colorful downtown, the gigantic church buildings everywhere, or all the cowboy hats. It was the people and their conduct.

It’s not just a legend; the people really are nicer in Texas. As a whole, they are decent and looking out for their neighbor. I experienced this firsthand and, in a way, it changed me. Here is my encounter with decency.

I was driving a rental car on the highways surrounding Dallas well after dark. By the way, drivers down there are a lot more patient and quicker to let you switch lanes. That now comes to mind–no joke–everytime I have the urge to come in first or have the chance to give someone in front of me on the road a little more space. Anyway, it had been raining all day there. I exited the interstate and pulled into what I thought was a parking lot for my destination.

I could see where I wanted to go, just on the other side of this “parking lot” which I soon realized had no lighting. Turns out, this wasn’t a parking lot, but rather a large, grassy construction sight turned mud hole, because of all the rain.

I was stuck. I managed to do a 180, turning the car back in the direction of the way I entered, in hopes to get back out. I tried putting the car in neutral and pushing it myself (walking in mud up to my ankles), but that did no good with no one there to step on the gas. I did my best to reverse and accelerate my way out, but I was going nowhere.

The car looked as if I went mudding offroad, but that rental car was not the type for Texas muddin’!

After ten minutes of trying, I barely had a moment to think about what am I going to do, because a car pulled up to help. A guy and girl got out and said jokingly, “Having some fun in here?” They asked me how long I was there. I said about ten minutes. They were surprised it took ten minutes for someone to stop and help. I thought to myself, that’s pretty good, considering how long it would take for someone to stop where I come from.

With their help, we got the car out quite effortlessly. We exchanged names and handshakes. And with their willingness to get in mud up to their ankles just to help another person, they showed a powerful example of Matthew 22:39, “Thou shalt love thy neighbor as thyself.”

I look forward to going back in July.

  1. February 21, 2012 at 12:33 am

    I’m glad you had such a good experience with the folks here in my city (sorry about the mud hole). Of course Dallas is a very big city, so there are all types – it’s good you met up with the right ones.

    I was talking to someone from Cleveland (I used to work for a certain large paint company) and he said, “I’m always surprised at how nice everyone here is.”
    I said, “The amazing thing is, they are so helpful, but a lot of them are armed.”
    He replied, “Maybe that’s why everyone is so nice.”

  2. February 22, 2012 at 11:17 am

    Hi Bill! Interesting you bring up Cleveland. I lived near there a couple years as a child and have always seen myself possibly going back one day–love it there. Funny that Cleveland comes up under a post about Dallas, which I’ve also considered. Weighing my options for the future.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

